Best eSIM for Japan: Networks and Prices Compared

For a city trip a single 5 GB eSIM settles it, and everything changes the moment you leave the cities. Brands run on different Japanese networks and almost none of them sell Docomo. Here is what each brand runs on, what it costs, and what to buy for the trip you are taking.

Last updated: August 2026
The short version
City trip, 3–5 daysone capped eSIM around 5 GB covers it.
Rural or mountainsyou want Docomo, and travel eSIMs almost never run on it.
Travelling as a groupfrom three people a single pocket WiFi router costs less.
Unlimitedprices rose sharply in early 2026, so compare against capped plans.
IDdata-only plans still activate with no identity check.
Japanese numbera voice SIM needs a residence card, so visitors cannot get one.
A traveller checking a phone on a Kyoto street with the temple approach behind
A data-only eSIM activates with no identity check, so the phone is already online on arrival. Photo: Wikimedia Commons.

1. A data-only SIM needs no identity check

As of August 2026 you can buy and activate a data-only SIM or eSIM in Japan without showing any identification. That holds whether you buy at an airport counter, at an electronics chain, at a convenience store, or from an overseas eSIM seller before you fly. The requirement people are thinking of applies to voice SIMs that come with a Japanese phone number, and those sit behind a much higher barrier.

What you are buyingWhat you need right now
Data-only eSIM from an overseas sellerNothing beyond a payment card
Data-only physical SIM in JapanNothing
Voice SIM with a Japanese numberA residence card. Not available to short-stay visitors

For almost every trip the distinction does not bite, because what you actually consume in Japan is data. Maps, train times, translation, messaging and restaurant bookings all run on it. The one thing a Japanese number would give you is the ability to be called by a hotel or a rental desk, and messaging apps cover that.

💡 If you are still deciding how many nights go to each city, our complete Japan travel guide is the better place to start.
📶 Data-only plans need no ID right now, so you can buy one before you flySee on Yesim →See on Saily →See on Airalo →Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Japan eSIM cost calculator

Enter how long you stay and how much data you expect to use. The table shows what each provider actually charges for that trip, what you get, and how many days you end up paying for but not using.

Rows are in a fixed order by provider. That order is not a ranking.

They price on different axes. Airalo sells a fixed ladder of trip lengths alongside a grid of data caps. Yesim sells unlimited by the exact day, so a 12-day trip costs 12 days rather than a 15-day package. Saily sells a few data bundles with a fixed validity, plus unlimited plans where you pick the number of days.

  • Airalo · Network: Softbank 5G · KDDI 5G
  • Airalo · Speed limit on unlimited packages: Unlimited means unlimited until 3 GB in one day. After that the speed drops to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day, then resets.
  • Yesim · Network: not disclosed by the provider
  • Saily · Network: not disclosed by the provider
  • Saily · Speed limit on unlimited packages: Unlimited means unlimited until 5 GB in one day. After that the speed drops to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day, then resets.
  • Every option here is data only. None of them gives you a local phone number, so if you need one for calls, deliveries or SMS codes, an eSIM of this kind is not the answer.

Prices read from each provider on 2026-10-07 · The links below are affiliate links. The price you pay does not change.

Every package and price, side by side: the full eSIM cost calculator

2. Why you keep reading that a passport is now required

Japanese telecoms rules did change in 2026. What has changed and what has not are being reported as one thing. They are two separate amendments with two separate timelines.

Which changeWhat it doesStatus
The method of identity verificationRemote verification by uploading a photo of a document has been retired in favour of reading the IC chip in a My Number card. In person, a document without a photograph is no longer acceptedIn force
The scope of identity verificationExtends the requirement to data-only SIMs and caps how many lines one person may holdNot yet in force

Several English-language articles have compressed those into a single claim that data SIMs now require a passport. Only the first has taken effect, and it changed the procedure for contracts that already required verification. Japanese carriers state plainly in their own customer notices that data-only plans fall outside it.

The second one has passed and been promulgated, but its commencement date is left to a cabinet order that has not been issued. The law must come into force within a year of promulgation, so it will apply sometime before the end of next year. The cap on lines per person has not been set either. If your trip is months away, check the seller’s own page again before you buy. It costs nothing to look, and you are carrying your passport regardless.

3. You cannot buy a Japanese phone number as a visitor

A voice SIM that issues a Japanese number requires a residence card. Visitors on a short-stay entry do not have one, so the product is not sold to them. Shops enforce this closely, and retailers have been penalised for skipping the check.

Two routes exist around it.

ProviderHow it works
MobalOrders online in advance and ships before you travel
SoftBankSold only at airport counters at Narita, Haneda, Nagoya and Kansai. City stores will not sell it to you

Whether that is worth arranging depends on the shape of your trip. A Japanese number matters for reporting a rental car incident, for the handful of ryokan and minshuku that confirm by phone rather than email, and for booking a clinic. On a two-week trip through cities you will not miss it. Driving in Hokkaido or Kyushu for a month is a different case.

4. Japan has no 3G network left

NTT Docomo shut its 3G network on 31 March 2026, which removed the last 3G service in Japan. au closed in March 2022 and SoftBank in April 2024.

Carrier3G switch-off
au (KDDI)March 2022
SoftBankApril 2024
NTT Docomo31 March 2026

The practical consequence is that a 3G-only handset now gets no voice, no SMS and no data anywhere in the country. It also removes the slow fallback that used to appear at the edge of 4G coverage. If you were planning to carry an old spare phone as a backup, check that it supports 4G before you pack it. Anything bought in the last several years is fine.

5. Networks are identical in the cities and separate in the hills

Japan has four carriers. In Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto and every other place with crowds, you will not tell them apart. All four run 5G and all four cover essentially the whole population with 4G.

CarrierSubscribersShare5G in Tokyo’s 23 wards
NTT Docomo84 million40.6%96%
au (KDDI)63 million30.4%94%
SoftBank51 million24.6%88–89%
Rakuten Mobile9 million4.4%76%

The number that matters once you leave the cities is not population coverage but land coverage. Population coverage counts where people live, and nobody lives along a ridge trail or a coastal road.

Carrier4G land coverageKnown weak areas
NTT Docomo95% (99.9% of population)Japanese Alps summits above 2,500 m
au (KDDI)88–90%Shimokita Peninsula, inland Shikoku, southern Hokkaido
SoftBank5–10 points below DocomoMountain regions generally

That reduces the decision to one question. City itinerary, buy anything. Everything outside the cities is where it gets interesting, and there is one fact most guides skip.

💡 For trips that go inland, our Japan ski guide and our onsen and ryokan guide break the regions down.
The storefront of an NTT Docomo shop on a Japanese street
Docomo has the widest land coverage, and travel eSIMs mostly do not sell it. A Docomo-network physical SIM is the way in. Photo: Chacmool, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

6. What each brand costs, and which network it runs on

This is where the choice gets made. The brands differ on price structure and on host network at the same time. Straight from what each publishes:

BrandJapan pricingNetworkWorth knowing
YesimCapped, 30 days
1 GB $4.44 · 5 GB $10.56 · 10 GB $19.20 · 20 GB $29.76
5GClosest to what travellers use. One-day plans from $4.20
Saily1 GB / 7 days $3.99 · 20 GB / 30 days $24.99
Unlimited $18.99 for 5 days to $71.99 for 30
Not stated“Unlimited” throttles after 5 GB a day
AiraloUnlimited only
3 days $11.50 · 7 days $27.00 · 30 days $69
SoftBank plus one otherNo capped plans at all
KlookVaries by productSoftBank 5GThe network is stated on the product page
KKdayVaries by product5GAlso carries physical SIMs and pocket WiFi
Docomo-network MVNO SIMs
(Sakura Mobile, bmobile, IIJmio)
From ¥1,900 for 10–15 daysDocomoEffectively the only route to Docomo

Two things stand out. First, none of the mainstream travel eSIMs run on Docomo, despite Docomo having the widest land coverage. Second, the gap between capped and unlimited is large. A traveller using 3–5 GB a week pays $10.56 for Yesim’s 5 GB over 30 days, and the same money does not even buy three days of Airalo unlimited.

Your itineraryWhat to buy
Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto and other citiesYesim 5 GB at $10.56, or the Klook eSIM. SoftBank and au are indistinguishable in cities
Streaming or tethering a laptopAiralo unlimited, $27 for seven days
Mountains, back roads, a long coastal driveA Docomo-network physical SIM. Buying Docomo as an eSIM is difficult
⚠️ “Use Docomo outside the cities” is correct advice. The problem is that the guides saying it usually recommend an eSIM two paragraphs later, and that eSIM is not on Docomo. Read the supported-network line yourself.
📶 Read the supported-network line before you pay, especially for a rural legSee on Yesim →See on Saily →See on Airalo →Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
A hand sliding a physical SIM card into a smartphone tray
Physical SIMs still matter for handsets without eSIM, including iPhones sold in mainland China.

7. Check that your handset takes an eSIM

Two things have to be true before you buy. The phone has to support eSIM, and it has to be carrier-unlocked.

HandseteSIM support
iPhoneXS, XR, SE (2020) and later
Samsung GalaxyS20 and later, Note 20, Z Fold and Flip, some A-series (A54, A55)
Google PixelPixel 3 and later

The quickest check is to dial *#06#. If an EID appears, the handset takes an eSIM. You can also look for “Add eSIM” in the network settings.

⚠️ iPhones sold in mainland China generally have no eSIM at all. The same model ships there with two physical trays instead. If that is your phone, plan on a physical SIM or pocket WiFi. At the other end, US iPhones from the 14 onwards have no tray, so a physical SIM is not an option on those.

For a physical SIM the handset must be unlocked. A phone still tied to an instalment plan at home will refuse a Japanese SIM. Sort that out with your carrier before you leave rather than at an airport counter.

8. What each option costs

There are three ways to get online and their price ranges overlap, so cost alone rarely settles it.

OptionTypical priceWhen it fits
eSIM1 GB / 3 days about $4, 10 GB about $18, 20 GB / 30 days about $26One or two people with supported handsets
Physical SIM at the airport5 GB / 7–10 days ¥2,000–3,000
High-data 15–30 days ¥4,000–6,000
Handsets that cannot take an eSIM
Pocket WiFi¥440–4,064 per day, falling steeply with rental lengthGroups of three or more

The airport range is wide because it spans several host networks. Docomo-network MVNOs such as Sakura Mobile, bmobile, eConnect and IIJmio start around ¥1,900 for ten to fifteen days and run past ¥5,000 for thirty to sixty. au’s own prepaid range runs ¥2,000 to ¥9,000. Counters sit at Narita, Haneda and Kansai Terminal 1.

⚠️ Unlimited plans rose sharply in early 2026. Airalo’s unlimited Japan plan went from roughly $15 to $27 for seven days, and from roughly $35 to $72 for thirty. Older reviews recommending unlimited by default were written against the old prices. Put the capped plans next to it before deciding.

Most travellers use less than they expect. Maps, messaging and translation on a week-long trip land between 3 and 5 GB, because hotel and café WiFi absorb the rest. Streaming video or tethering a laptop for work is the case where unlimited earns its price.

📶 Unlimited went up sharply this year, so put the capped plans next to itSee on Yesim →See on Saily →See on Airalo →Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

9. Why pocket WiFi survives in Japan

Pocket WiFi has all but died elsewhere and is still everywhere in Japan. One property explains it. A single unit serves everyone travelling together.

eSIMs are bought per person: four travellers buy four. A pocket WiFi router is one rental split four ways, and the daily rate drops steeply the longer you keep it, so on trips beyond a week with three or more people the totals cross over.

ProviderPrice
Japan Wireless$19 for one day, $129 for 30 days (about $4.30 a day)
Ninja WiFi$2.98 a day for small allowances up to $13.40 for unlimited

The conditions attached are real. You have to return it, at an airport counter or by post, which is one more thing to hold on a tight final morning. It needs charging. And it only works for whoever is carrying it, so a group that splits up for the day leaves somebody offline. Families moving as one unit do well with it. Trips where people go their own way and meet for dinner do not.

The Hida mountains above Kamikochi in the Japanese Alps
Above about 2,500 m in the Alps even Docomo has gaps, so download maps offline before a hiking day. Photo: Raita Futo from Tokyo, Japan, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

10. How much data you will actually use

The commonest mistake when choosing is buying far more data than the trip needs. Hotel, café and restaurant WiFi absorb a large share of the day, so the cellular total stays low.

ActivityPer dayOver a week
Maps and navigation, two or three hours a day50–150 MB0.5–1 GB
Messaging, including a few photos50–100 MBabout 0.5 GB
Translation, including camera translation30–80 MB0.3–0.5 GB
Search and restaurant bookings50–100 MBabout 0.5 GB
Social feeds and video500 MB–2 GB4–14 GB
Tethering a laptop to work1–3 GB7–20 GB

The first four rows together come to under 2 GB a week, so a 5 GB plan leaves room to spare. Unlimited earns its price only on the last two rows, and not even then if you save the video for hotel WiFi.

💡 Download the areas you are visiting in Google Maps before you leave. It saves data and, more usefully, the map still opens in tunnels.

11. Buying at the airport: where the counters are and when they close

If your handset cannot take an eSIM, or you specifically want Docomo, you buy a physical SIM on arrival. Locations and closing times differ by airport, and a late landing makes this the first thing to check.

AirportWhereHours
NaritaTerminals 1, 2 and 3, counters and vending machines (JAL ABC, AnyFone, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank)Terminal 2 main building 1F runs 07:00–21:00
HanedaMainly Terminal 3 for international arrivals, counters and machinesBic Camera in Terminal 3 07:00–22:00; SoftBank counter in Terminal 2 08:00–20:00
KansaiTerminal 1Pickup windows have run 06:00–11:00, so check the hours against your landing time

Vending machines sometimes run after the counters close, but they carry a narrower range. Landing after midnight makes buying a physical SIM on the spot a risky plan. Installing an eSIM in advance removes the problem entirely. Ordering online for airport collection still ties you to counter hours.

💡 If you need Docomo and you land late, order a Docomo-network MVNO SIM by post before you travel. Sakura Mobile and others ship internationally.
📶 Counters keep limited hours, so a late landing is better solved before you flySee on Yesim →See on Saily →See on Airalo →Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
The arrival gate area at Narita Airport Terminal 2
Narita sells SIMs at counters and vending machines across Terminals 1, 2 and 3. Photo: Chihaya Sta, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

12. Can you get by on free WiFi alone

Japan does have a lot of free WiFi, which leads some travellers to plan on buying nothing. It works, in the sense that surviving and using are different things.

Airports, stations, convenience stores, cafés and chain restaurants all offer it. The friction is in how it behaves: many networks want an email address or a fresh agreement on every connection, and sessions expire after twenty or thirty minutes. That is workable when you sit down and useless when you are walking with a map open.

That bites hardest on a city-hopping route like the Golden Route. The moments that actually go wrong are predictable. Finding the right platform during a transfer, finding a booked restaurant down an alley, checking when the next bus comes. All of them happen standing up or moving, which is exactly when you cannot get onto a WiFi network.

So free WiFi is excellent as a supplement and unusable as the only plan. Buy a small data allowance and let the WiFi carry the heavy things.

The arrival hall at Kansai International Airport
Kansai keeps shorter pickup hours than Tokyo, so check them against your landing time. Photo: Terence Ong, CC BY 2.5, via Wikimedia Commons.

13. Install at home, activate on arrival

Downloading an eSIM profile needs an internet connection, which is why people get stuck trying to set one up after landing. Install it on your home WiFi before you fly.

On iOS: Settings, then Cellular, then Add eSIM, scan the QR code, label the line, set it as the data line, and turn on data roaming for that line. This is the step that confuses people. The roaming toggle here is not your home carrier’s roaming; it tells the phone to use the local Japanese line, and it carries no charge. Then turn data off on your home line.

On Android: Settings, then Network or Connections, then SIMs, add the eSIM, set it as the preferred data SIM and enable roaming on it.

⚠️ Check when the validity clock starts. Some plans count from installation and others from the first connection in Japan. Installing the first kind three days early throws away three days. The product page says which, and most are built so that you can install ahead and activate on landing.

Keep your home line alive for bank one-time codes. On a dual-SIM handset, leave it able to receive calls and texts with its data switched off and nothing is billed.

14. Where it still drops out

Cities are solved. Moving between them is not. Tunnels on the Shinkansen and on local lines cut every carrier, and Japan is mountainous enough that a route hits them repeatedly. The two and a half hours from Tokyo to Kyoto drop several times.

That applies most on a JR Pass and Shinkansen itinerary. The fix is preparation rather than a better plan. Load what you need before boarding: save maps offline, screenshot the ticket QR and the hotel address. The habit worth building is never depending on opening a booking screen while in motion.

In the mountains and on the smaller islands the carrier does matter, along the lines set out above, and even Docomo has gaps above 2,500 m in the Alps. Anyone with a hiking day in the plan should download the map offline regardless of network.

Free WiFi is common at airports, stations, convenience stores and cafés. Many networks re-authenticate on each connection, which makes them workable when you sit down and useless while walking with a map open.

💡 Once data is sorted, the other arrival-day job is a transit card: see our Suica and ICOCA guide and getting from the airport into Tokyo. Our money and payments guide covers cash and cards, and our departure tax guide covers what is added when you leave.
💡 Still choosing dates? Our guide to the best time to visit Japan is the place to start.
📶 Check the host network before you pay if your trip leaves the citiesSee on Yesim →See on Saily →See on Airalo →Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
A Tokyo commuter train platform seen from the end of the platform
Tunnels cut every carrier, so load maps and tickets before boarding.

15. What fits which trip

Putting the conditions above together by the shape of the trip:

TripWhat to buyWhy
Three to five days in Tokyo or Osaka, one or two peopleA capped Airalo plan around 5 GB, or the Klook Japan eSIMNetworks are indistinguishable in the cities and that allowance leaves room
A weekend, two or three daysA three-day eSIM (Airalo unlimited runs about $11.50)Under four dollars a day, so compare it against your roaming rate before defaulting to roaming
Family of four moving together all dayOne pocket WiFi routerYou are not buying per head, and past a week the totals cross over
Driving through the countryside, coast or mountains (Beppu and Yufuin, Miyako Island)A physical SIM, choosing a Docomo-network product at the seller95% land coverage, and travel eSIMs do not sell Docomo
Streaming, or tethering a laptop for workAiralo unlimited (about $27 for seven days)A capped plan disappears in a few days
An iPhone bought in mainland ChinaPhysical SIM or pocket WiFiThose handsets have no eSIM at all
A month or longer, needing a local numberMobal, or SoftBank at an airport counterVoice SIMs need a residence card and those are the two exceptions. Neither is something we carry
📶 Match the plan to the trip rather than to the biggest number of gigabytesSee on Yesim →See on Saily →See on Airalo →Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

16. The check before you fly

Nearly every airport panic traces back to one of these six being skipped.

WhenWhat
Before buyingDial *#06# and look for an EID. No EID means the handset takes no eSIM
Before buyingFor a physical SIM, confirm the handset is carrier-unlocked
Before buyingGoing rural? Read the supported-network line. If you need Docomo, buy a physical SIM rather than an eSIM
Night beforeInstall the eSIM on home WiFi. Do not activate it
Night beforeDownload your destinations in Google Maps for offline use
Before boardingSwitch off data on your home line but leave calls and texts on, for bank codes

Our accommodation tax guide covers the other thing collected in person at check-in. On arrival there is one step left: turn off airplane mode, set the Japanese line as the data line, and enable roaming on that line. Done properly, the map is already open while you are still in the immigration queue.

17. Other Japan guides worth reading

With data sorted, what is left is moving around, sleeping and paying. Take what applies.

📚 More Japan-wide guides
★ Start here First Time in Japan? Start Your Whole Trip Here →
🎡Things to Do8
🏨Where to Stay2
🚇Getting Around4
🧭Travel Tips14
Browse all our Japan guides →

Frequently asked questions

Q. Do I need a passport to buy a Japan eSIM?
Not for a data-only eSIM, which activates with no identity check. The passport claim comes from merging the April 2026 change to verification methods with a separate extension to data SIMs that has not commenced. A voice SIM with a Japanese number does require a residence card.
Q. When will the ID requirement start applying to data SIMs?
The amendment has passed and been promulgated, but its commencement is set by a cabinet order that has not been issued. It must take effect within a year of promulgation, so before the end of next year. Check the seller’s page again close to your trip.
Q. Which network should I choose?
For a city itinerary, any of them. For mountains, rural driving or small islands, choose a Docomo plan. Docomo covers 95% of Japan’s land area against 88–90% for au. Airalo and Holafly run on Docomo, Ubigi runs on au, and the plan sold through Klook runs on SoftBank.
Q. Can I get a Japanese phone number as a tourist?
Not through the normal route, because a voice SIM requires a residence card. The two exceptions are Mobal, which ships on an advance online order, and SoftBank, which sells to visitors only at the Narita, Haneda, Nagoya and Kansai airport counters.
Q. How much data should I buy?
Maps, messaging and translation over a week come to 3–5 GB for most people, because hotel and café WiFi carry a large share. Buy unlimited if you stream video or tether a laptop for work.
Q. Are unlimited plans worth it?
Less than they were. Airalo’s unlimited Japan plan moved from about $15 to $27 for seven days and from about $35 to $72 for thirty in early 2026. A capped 20 GB plan is about $26 for thirty days, so compare them directly rather than trusting an older recommendation.
Q. eSIM or pocket WiFi?
It turns on headcount. eSIMs are per person; a pocket WiFi router is shared. Three or more people travelling together for over a week usually pay less with the router. Against that, it has to be returned and charged, and whoever is not carrying it has no connection.
Q. How do I know whether my phone supports eSIM?
Dial *#06# and look for an EID. Support starts at the iPhone XS, XR and SE (2020), the Galaxy S20, and the Pixel 3. iPhones sold in mainland China generally have no eSIM.
Q. Can I bring an old phone as a spare?
Only if it supports 4G. Docomo’s shutdown on 31 March 2026 ended 3G in Japan, and a 3G-only handset now has no voice, SMS or data anywhere in the country.
Q. When should I install the eSIM?
Install on your home WiFi before flying, because downloading the profile needs a connection. Activate after you land. Some plans start counting validity at installation, so switching on too early wastes days.
Q. Will I still receive my bank’s verification codes?
Yes, on a dual-SIM handset. Leave your home line able to receive calls and texts and switch off only its data, and nothing is billed.
Q. Does the Shinkansen have signal?
Not in tunnels, for any carrier, and Japanese rail routes pass through many of them. Save maps offline before boarding and screenshot your ticket QR and hotel address.
Everything else about planning the trip sits in our complete Japan travel guide

🗺️ Japan-wide guides →

Browse all our Japan guides →


About  ·  Contact  ·  Privacy
© 2026 Breeze Japan